AECS-1, Tarapur has a roller coaster ride since its inception in 1966 till now - eventful and colourful - having completed 50 years bringing glory to the institution. The school has been leading as a model educational institution in this region. The saga of its success has been attributed to those visionaries who guided the institution all through these years. The AECS-1 has now emerged as one of the largest and the best schools in Maharashtra. The transformation from TAPS schools into Atomic Energy Central School had taken place in 1975 when AECS-1 merged with AEES, Mumbai. The founder Headmaster Mr H N Tripathi took care of the TAPS School from 1966 to 1971. In 1977, the first batch of students appeared for the All India Secondary School examinations conducted by the CBSE, New Delhi. In 1979 the first batch of Class XII students appeared in the All India Senior Secondary Certificate Examinations, However in 1981 the Junior College got affiliated to the Maharashtra State Board of Hr. Secondary Education, Mumbai. At present, AECS-1 is a composite school from Prep. to Class XII located at one place in a single building. The secondary school is affiliated to CBSE New Delhi and Hr secondary is affiliated to M S Board, building with well -furnished & well-ventilated classrooms & also boasts of excellent infrastructure facilities - three well-equipped science labs, computer and IT Lab, Aster Lab, Mathematics lab and Social Studies lab. The school provides excellent facilities and perfect ambience for pursuing academic excellence. The infrastructure facilities also include vast playgrounds, Volleyball & Basketball Courts etc. The school provides summer sports coaching in various games and athletic events.  

About AEES

Atomic Energy Central Schools are run by the Atomic Energy Education Society, AEES. It is guided by the Governing Council consisting of eminent Scientists/Engineers and outstanding educationists from the DAE, Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education etc. At present the AEES runs schools at Anushaktinagar(Mumbai), Tarapur(Maharashtra), Narora(UP), Kakrapar(Gujarat), Hyderabad, Manuguru(AP), OSCOM(Orissa), Indore(MP), Rawathbhata(Rajasthan), Kalpakkam, Anupuram and Kudankulam(Tamilnadu).